Support Program for Ukrainian Scientists in Donostia/San Sebastián

DIPC Offers Procedure Hosts DIPC UPV UPV Default

Help for Ukrainian Scientists

In collaboration with the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC) is opening its doors to host Ukrainian scientists, from PhD students to senior researchers.


Offers

These offers include office space, computer with internet access, and access to library and/or lab facilities.

How to proceed

Please contact either directly a possible scientific supervisor/host from the list below or write to ukr-contact@dipc.org. In this latter case, please provide brief information on your status, field of science and, if possible, the name(s) of potential host(s) among the DIPC scientists or associates and a current CV.

If you have general questions or no luck in contacting the selected host, please write to ukr-contact@dipc.org.

About DIPC

Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC) is a research center located in Donostia-San Sebastián in the Basque Country in the north of Spain, in founded in 1999. The mission of DIPC is to perform and catalyze cutting-edge research in physics and related disciplines, as well as to convey scientific culture to society. DIPC was conceived and designed based on the idea that an advanced society needs advanced scientific research. For further information see also our most recent report (2020; pdf; 8MB).

An important element of DIPC lies in its foundational goals and how they are implemented in practice:

Scientific activity at DIPC addresses fundamental topics that take place on very different length scales, from elementary particles to atoms, nanostructures, mesoscopic systems, and galaxies. The research areas that drive DIPC's scientific effort comprise:


Quantum Systems and Technologies -- Attosecond Physics and Electron Dynamics -- Computational Chemistry -- Advanced Materials -- Characterization of Interfaces and Low Dimensional Systems -- Electronic Structure, Electronic Transport, and Surface Dynamics -- Nano-optics, nano-photonics and nano-plasmonics -- Photochemistry -- Polymers and Soft Matter -- Computational Astrophysics and Cosmology -- Experimental Particle Physics


Furthermore, DIPC hosts an infrastructure that serves a large community of researchers, namely, the DIPC Supercomputing Center.

About UPV/EHU

The University of the Baque Country UPV/EHU is the largest university in the Basque Autonomous Community (Euskadi / País Vasco) in the north of Spain. Founded in 1980, is a public research university spread over three campuses in Bilbao, Donostia-San Sebastián, and Vitora-Gasteiz it currently hosts 45,000 students and 5,600 academic staff. Following its motto Give and spread knowledge, the University of the Basque Country is an integrating institution willing to produce knowledge, experience and research in order to convey them to the general public. The university's courses catalogue consists of over 100 Bachelor's Degrees in all fields of knowledge. At the postgraduate level, over 100 official master programmes and 66 doctoral programmes are offered. More information can be found in the Informational Leaflet of the UPV/EHU (in English) and on its website.

Hosts and host groups

The list may change as offers are filled or additional colleagues agree to serve as hosts.

Topic Name Affiliation Email Website
Aromaticity, nonlinear optics and ionic liquids Eduard Matito DIPC ematito@gmail.com Donostia Quantum Chemistry Group
Aromaticity, nonlinear optics and ionic liquids Elixabete Rezabal DIPC elixabete.rezabal@ehu.eus Donostia Quantum Chemistry Group
Astrophysics and Cosmology Raúl Angulo DIPC reangulo@dipc.org BACCO - bias and clustering calculations optimized
Astrophysics and Cosmology Silvia Bonoli DIPC silvia.bonoli@dipc.org Silvia Bonoli, Ikerbasque Research Fellow, DIPC
Bio-Inorganic Chemistry, Photochemistry, Photochemotherapy Luca Salassa DIPC lsalassa@dipc.org Inorganic Photochemistry Lab
Bio-Inorganic Chemistry, X-ray Imaging, X-ray spectroscopy Carlos Sánchez-Cano DIPC carlos.sanchez@dipc.org Carlos Sánchez Cano Ikerbasque Research Fellow, DIPC
Computer vision, image processing and machine learning Ignacio Arganda-Carreras UPV/EHUignacio.arganda@ehu.eus Ignacio Arganda-Carreras Ikerbasque Research Associate, UPV/EHU
Electronic structure and quantum chemistry David Casanova DIPC david.casanova@ehu.eus Donostia Quantum Chemistry Group: Dr David Casanova/
Freestanding and supported nanoclusters, heterogeneous catalysis, precious metals, dehydrogenation reactions, fuel cells, catalyst deactivation Elisa Jimenez-IzalDIPC, UPV/EHU elisa.jimenez@ehu.eus Dr. Elisa Jimenez-Izal
High-pressure computational organic chemistry, nanothreads Bo ChenDIPC bo.chen@dipc.org The Chen Group @DIPC
Light-matter interactions, Photonics Alexey Nikitin DIPC alexey@dipc.org 2D Nanophotonics
Nanoelectronics theory and simulation Aran Garcia-Lekue DIPC wmbgalea@ehu.eus Arantzazu Garcia Lekue Ikerbasque Research Associate, DIPC
Nanomaterials and spectroscopy group Yury Rakovich CFM yury.rakovich@ehu.eus Nanomaterials and Spectroscopy group
Nanophotonics theory Aitzol Garcia-Etxarri DIPC aitzolgarcia@dipc.org Aitzol García Etxarri, Ikerbasque Research Fellow, DIPC
Neutron science, computational materials modelling, thermophysics, energy & sustainable materials Félix Fernández CFM-MPC felix.fernandez@ehu.eus Félix Fernández Alonso Ikerbasque Research Professor
Quantum chemistry, protein folding David de Sancho DIPC, UPV/EHU david.desancho@ehu.eu Theoretical Chemistry Unit: David De Sancho Research
Quantum information and quantum optics Géza Giedke DIPC geza.giedke@dipc.org Geza Giedke: Quantum Information -- Theory and Implementation
Quantum Theory of Materials Ion Errea CFM ion.errea@ehu.eus Ion Errea
Quantum transport theory, Electronic structure methods, Theory and simulation of nanostructures Thomas Frederiksen DIPC thomas_frederiksen@ehu.eus Nanoelectronics – theory and simulation
Spin quantum transport, spectral properties of fermionic/bosonic lattice systems Dario Bercioux DIPC dario.bercioux@dipc.org Mesoscopic Electrons and Photons Systems Group
Theoretical and Computational Chemistry: excited state reactivity and dynamics in complex molecular systems Pedro Braña CFM pedro.brana@csic.es Pedro Braña Coto, Profile @ CFM
Theory of Nanophotonics Ruben Esteban CFM ruben.esteban@ehu.eus Theory of Nanophotonics Group

Further offers of help for Ukrainian scientists in San Sebastián is offered at Nanogune and offers by other institutes worldwide are collected by Science for Ukraine and in a spread sheet maintained by Andrew Kern (@pastramimachine) at the University of Oregon.

Offers directed to students are collected at ukraine.uni-foundation.eu.